Ash Wednesday Veggie Frittata

Spring is coming in Western Kentucky.  It’s 64 degrees outside, the daffodils are blooming, and I’d be willing to bet my new bottle of sun-dried tomato pesto that the golf course is packed.

But I grew up Roman Catholic, and I’m now Episcopalian, so even with the flowers and golfers, I can’t truly settle into the coming of Spring until Lent is here.  And today, my friends, is that grand day.  Today is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent.

I know all kinds of people who get awfully grouchy during Lent.  Most of the time it’s because they’re giving up chocolate or caffeine or some other necessity that addicts really shouldn’t mess with during Lent, if you ask me.  Other people don’t like the stillness in

Veggie Frittata with toast and apple butter

church.  No Alleluia, no joyous hymns.  But for me, that’s the beauty of Lent.  The stillness.  The serenity.  The quiet that allows us to look within ourselves.  The peace.

Wow, I sound mighty zen, huh?

My point is, Lent has its benefits.  And over the years, I’ve actually discovered that I really love ringing in springtime with Ash Wednesday.  And much to my shock and delight, my carnivorous psyche has even learned to appreciate the vegetarian-ness of the season.  (Now I’m seriously zenning out.)  From time to time, I do still have to yank my hand away from my face when I notice that I’m about to shove a cheeseburger in my mouth, but otherwise I have it totally under control on Ash Wednesday.

So in the spirit of Lent and the coming of spring, here is a veggie frittata that is so quick and yummy it should make you sing.  Just not joyous hymns of Alleluia.  Only 45 days til Easter.

Ash Wednesday Veggie Frittata

print recipe

Serves 4

  • Prep and active cook:  20 minutes
  • Bake: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 red potatoes, scrubbed with skins left on, diced
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced
  • 4 sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, chopped -OR- 1 Tbsp jarred sun-dried tomato pesto (which I found today at the discount grocery!)  If you can’t find sun-dried anything, chop up a few grape tomatoes.
  • 1 tsp dried Italian seasoning (-OR- a pinch each of dried basil, oregano, and thyme)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper (fresh ground if possible)
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 (16 oz) carton egg substitute (or 7 beaten eggs if you want to break eggs and add a bunch of cholesterol)
  • 1 oz goat cheese, crumbled (or smooshed into mushy bits.)  If you don’t like goat cheese, use Parmigiano Reggiano or your favorite sharp cheese.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven broiler
  • Heat olive oil in a large, non-stick, oven-proof skillet over medium high heat until shimmering but not popping.
  • Cook potatoes in oil, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes  (Tip: chop zucchini and tomatoes while potatoes are cooking)
  • Add zucchini and tomatoes to the skillet, stirring frequently, for 2 minutes
  • Add spices (the next four ingredients), blend well, and spread mixture with spatula or spoon evenly across bottom of skillet
  • Lower heat to medium
  • Pour egg substitute (or beaten eggs) evenly over the mixture and allow to cook for about 2 to 3 minutes
  • Sprinkle with goat cheese (or other cheese)
  • Transfer skillet to oven and cook under broiler for 3 to 5 minutes, until eggs are set and top is slightly golden
  • Serve with whole grain toast and apple butter, and if you need an extra kick for the frittata, serve with salsa or hot sauce
4 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday Veggie Frittata

Leave a Reply

