Dutch Oven From Heaven

Tramontina Dutch Oven

When I get to heaven, one of the first things I’ll ask God is how I ever lived without a dutch oven for so long.  Really, it’s remarkable that my family ever got fed, considering that my dutch oven is now a permanent fixture on my stove top.

I’ve heard, of course, that Le Creuset dutch ovens are the cat’s meow.  I’m sure they are.  But I wouldn’t know because I bought a $49 Tramontina dutch oven (6.5 quart) after doing quite a bit of research that shows Tramontina ranking right up there with Le Creuset.  And folks, let me tell you, this cat is seriously an amazing piece of cookware.  It doesn’t meow (yet), but does just about everything else.

If I had to pick only one pot to have in my kitchen, this would be it.  It browns meat with a perfect golden crust like magic.  It produces that precious fond (brown crusty bits) on the bottom of the pot exactly the way Julia always did.  And I have finally discovered that soups and stews truly can simmer for hours without scorching the bottom of the pot.  (I’m sorry, Emeril, for calling you a liar all those years.)

If you already own one of these beauties, you are likely nodding your head vigorously at every word.  If you don’t, do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a dutch oven for your next kitchen purchase.  Either spend $300 on Le Creuset and please write to tell me how much you love it, or go to Walmart.com and get a $49 Tramontina with 97 cents shipping.  (Don’t try to buy it at your local Wal-mart because from what I’ve been told, it’s not sold in the stores.)  Or better yet, find another brand that is just as amazing and share the love with the rest of us!  Just please, please find a way to own a dutch oven before you die.

Now shake that booty.

4 thoughts on “Dutch Oven From Heaven

    • HA! Something scares you, Shelly Bell?? 😉 Btw, I forgot to mention (but definitely should) that a few months ago Lindsay Black bought the exact same Tramontina dutch oven I have, but she got hers at Sam’s for $39!!! If that’s not enough to make you overcome your fears, I don’t know what is! It’s marketed under the brand “Gourmet”, I think. It says Tramontina on the box, but the lettering is small so you have to look for it.

Leave a Reply

