Cinnamon Honey Oatmeal with Bananas

cinnamon honey oatmeal with bananas

We woke up to the thunder this morning.  At 5am.  I know that’s fine for all you early birds, but not for me.  And it’s still raining.  So I knew today would be an oatmeal day.  Cozy, warm, cinnamony, and sweet.

This dish is mighty simple, but there is no better breakfast on a rainy day.  Plus, my kids adore it.  In fact, it’s just about the only way Jake will eat bananas.  Now that said, don’t feel bound to the bananas.  Use any fruit you have on hand.  Blueberries and strawberries work great.  If you can, though, try it with the bananas…there’s something about the way they soak up all the honey and cinnamon and nutmeg…ooooh, I think I need another bowl.

For those of you who eat instant oatmeal and can’t deal with old-fashioned oats, please try them one more time like this.  You’ll never go back.  My dear college friend Jill got me hooked on the real thing years ago, and I’ll never eat oatmeal and bananas without thinking of how insanely good it tasted on those wet mornings after swim practice when we were convinced we might starve to death during the five minutes it took us to cook it.

So now that I’ve had my breakfast of champions, I’m ready to take on the day.  No 5,000 yards of backstroke today.  Just a monster pile of tax prep.  Thank goodness for oatmeal.

Shake that booty.

Cinnamon Honey Oatmeal with Bananas

print recipe

Serves 4

Prep and cook time:  5 to 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups quick cooking oats (1/2 cup per bowl)
  • 4 cups skim milk (1 cup per bowl) + a few splashes
  • 2 bananas, sliced (1/2 banana per bowl)
  • Approx. 4 Tbsp. honey (about 1 Tbsp. per bowl)…use less if you can, but I can’t…or substitute with agave nectar
  • Cinnamon to taste (about 1/4 tsp. per bowl)
  • Nutmeg to taste (just a dash per bowl…you don’t need much!)
Directions:
  • In a medium pot, heat milk until just boiling*
  • Stir in oats and cook about 1 minute (sometimes it needs a bit longer…you want the oats to completely soak up the milk)
  • Serve into 4 bowls and add a splash of milk to each
  • Top with bananas and honey, then sprinkle with cinnamon and nutmeg

* If making only one bowl, simply combine 1/2 cup oats with 1 cup milk (directly the bowl) and heat in microwave for 1 to 2 minutes, until oats have soaked up milk, then stir and add toppings.

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Honey Oatmeal with Bananas

  1. Chris LOVES oatmeal so I’m trying this one! He always asks me to buy “steele cut” oatmeal. I don’t know where he heard of this, I mean, he is so far from a chef it ain’t funny! But he asked, I looked, and couldn’t find it. So, I bought INSTANT oatmeal…I know…BUT I’m trying this delicious sounding recipe next time! Your blog name is so fitting for you! You truly are SUPER MOMMA! I mean, seriously, you are a real chef!!! Hope Cynthia’s was YUM! TGIF!

    • Shelly, you are hilarious. And ain’t you the pot callin’ the kettle black, you crazy Super Momma! Let me tell you, Chris knows his stuff…steel cut oats are awesome…but they take longer to cook, and they are tough to find around here. Kroger had them at one point, but then I couldn’t find them. I just had a conversation with my friend Kim about steel cut oats this week, and she said that’s all she buys anymore, so I’ll find out where she gets them and let you know. Got the bread pudding at Cynthia’s…mmmm. 🙂 Y’all have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

